Dev Update 2021

This section covers latest updates and changes within the game. Posts here are made by the Developers and if you only read 1 Section - make it this one!
Coops
Site Admin

Dev Update 2021

Post by Coops »

Hi there fellow Exiles,

Coops here with an update on our / my progress. As many of you will know last year with the loss of my wife the wind was taken from my sails. I carried on keeping up on CE updates, security patches and some edits and even a few releases, but for the most part I was trying to put my life back in a working fashion.

I've been working on CE now for 14+ years and don't worry I have no intentions of stopping. I just needed to rebalance a few things and find some personal equilibrium before getting back in to life as a whole.

For the 'most' part CE has been self funding and keeps itself above the waterline with its costs of which there are many. I stepped in a few times last year to pump up the funding when it was needed and we have made it through another year. But as we move deeper in to 2021 I've had to take a full time job. The bills are the same, just one less beside you to help pay them lol.

ATM my hours and days are a little fluid and it won't be decided for a while. It will mean very early mornings and long days to start with and this in itself is not conducive with my coding large chunks of CE. But....

Most of you by now will be sick of me talking about starbases and wonder which century they will appear in game lol. Which is fair as Ive been at these now for a few years. The issue is the scale of game integration they require. Not to mention large chunks of new and rewritten code. Each checked and double checked.

So I have decided to start on a plan to Release starbases in series of Update / deployments.

Deployment 1 - TBA